Blogging; the journey so far.

Hey lovelies, am super sorry am dropping my weekly post a day late, don’t mind me am still recovering from the Sallah meat hangover πŸ˜„. Well am in a groovy mood as this is my 21st post and this year marks my 21st, there is a lot to be grateful for you know. For this reasons am looking back; sharing my experiences and lessons blogging so far . Stay glued;.

The birth: I had an idea to have an online diary since year 2015 or late year 2014 which prompted me to open an Instagram page ‘tutusdiary’ then. I wanted to write anonymously and just put it up on Instagram only hence, the name ‘Tutu’ which is actually a pet name *long story*. I later created a blog January 2016 after discussing with some friends and I forgot about it, but my cousin’s wedding proposal made me pick up my pen and start blogging as an a hobby which I am really enjoying. By the way my cousin is getting married in some days and am going to fill you in on the turn up.

Familiarity: I opened this blog on my own with no help and I had to find my way around setting it up to what you see now. From the backend/dashboard to the interface, choosing the right theme, choosingΒ  widgets, modifying the blogs appearance, etc. I must confess google has also been helpful with some technical issues.

Posts: I must confess it hasn’t been easy keeping up with my date with you all on here with my 8-5 weekday job and activity full weekends, but I have been able to manage this because I love what I am doing. Also my social media marketing background helped me a whole lot as I already knew about the components that makes up a post;

  • Feature image- Image unique to a particular post,
  • Tags- Specific keywords/words associated with a particular post,
  • Categories: They are used to group each post by topic, etc.

Skills gained: Publishing posts every week has honed my writing skills which am excited about and made me develop some other skills like;

  • Editing pictures- I learnt to edit pictures on my phone using the following apps: Photogrid, Picsart, VSCOcam, Aviary and Square quick. I also watermark my original pictures to minimize/avoid picture theft.
  • Creating graphics- I became a miniature graphic designer over night as I make creatives for both the facebook and the Instagram page, etc.

Statistics: This helps me keep tabs on the blog by knowing; the amount of people visiting the blog, amount of readers who viewed each posts, visitors on the blog for the first time, regions/ countries readers are in, how readers of a particular post got to the post via referrals from instagram, google or facebook, readers following the blog, etc. Have you followed the blog yet? just click on the follow button showing on the homescreen; don’t hesitate to do so

Driving traffic: My social media marketing background came to play here also as I opened a Facebook and Instagram page for the blog which has also driven traffic to the blog. As the statistics shows they are effective also. Have you followed us yet? Click on the social media icons on you right hand side

Reading: I have experienced writer’s block which I have put under check by constantly reading and researching. With wanting to deliver interesting and juicy contents to the readers comes reading, which has made me improve myself a whole lot and be up to date with information.

Opportunity: I hardly refer to myself as a blogger just because I prefer the word content creator, but blogging has brought me another job opportunity as a contributor on a website My Trending stories which is based in New york. You should visit their site to read interesting posts on different categories which relates to you as an individual and you can follow me here to read my post on there but it might be the same thing on here because of my busy schedule which won’t let me churn out more than enough contents.

In all the blog has made me improve and perform more than usual as there’s still room for improvement though.

Do you want to write but you have been postponing starting your blog or you want to contribute?, do you need help getting your blog all together? You can holla at me and I will love to be of help. Don’t forget to drop your comments, I would love to hear your thoughts onΒ  this post.

Until next time guys. Cheers!!!

Tutu ❀

7 thoughts on “Blogging; the journey so far.

    1. Thanks Deolu. Of course you do have the discipline, you just have to exercise it and be consistent. Never say never dear. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it. Keep stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

