New beginnings…

We always want to give a toast to new beginnings but are we all ready for the change that comes with new beginnings? Big question. Leaving everything behind and starting afresh can be a bit daunting with a lot of rethinks to be done as you are taking a big leap into the world of uncertainties and optimism.

Memories kept flooding my mind and I must confess it is one of the hardest decisions I have made in my life without any option other than a big YES; now I see reasons why brides cry at their wedding parties-reality dawns on them that they are leaving their family to start a new family with their husband in a relatively new environment.

20161018_190543.jpg

I recently embarked on the farthest journey have ever taken (even the road trip to Ghana wasn’t that far) with my nuclear family; my mum and brother some days after my 21st birthday which was coincidentally  my fathers 58th posthumous birthday. It was a long flight to Oklahoma City with 2 stop overs  of approximately 8 hours at each airports. Whew!!! You can imagine? We got here in one piece.

img_20161019_224241.jpg

20161019_235804.jpg
Guess who ?

The first welcome experience was the 13 degrees Celsius temperature chilly breeze with the sun shining bright. I ran back into the hotel lobby. I go around with my jacket and they can’t stop staring at me. I and my family have been coping well and like they say the weather has been friendly.

20161020_030929.jpg

The food isn’t so different living in a Nigerian home here, it just feels like home away from home with delicacies like poundo yam and vegetable soup, jollof rice and the list is endless . I must add that they eat a lot of food/junks made with flour; breads, biscuits, cookies etc and animal protein; meat and chicken most especially, this explains why they all look big. I think am doing just fine with the food. And now I need to add I take a lot of tea, which was not on my beverage list in Nigeria.

img-20161022-wa0017.jpg

img-20161024-wa0005.jpg
Family is everything

I’m super excited about this new beginning and am looking forward to the opportunities it will bring, but I miss home and my buddies there.

The blog is going to have content a bit different from the norm but I’m pretty sure you are looking forward to reading about this new place far away from home and this exciting journey. Let’s go guys!!!

Tutu ❤

P.S: I still wake up midnight thinking there is power outage sorry Nepa don take light and I dont have an accent yet.

One thought on “New beginnings…

Leave a Reply

