Reminiscing… My Unilag days

It’s a beautiful day today guys, my google photos showed me a reminder of what I was doing this time last year and clicking on it brought back a lot of memories. Sweet memories, ones I have forgotten. Thank God for Facebook and Google that will remind me that it has been a year since I left University of Lagos. I miss that school you know but I’ve moved on, that’s life for you.

I’m going to share some of those things I miss about Unilag. And here we go:

  1. Unilag Chicken and chips: This is the Unilag girl’s trap like they say, with a pack of C&C you can get any of them, but that’s a lie you know, you only get who ever wants to be gotten right. New hall C&C (Seuns BBQ) stand was my all time favourite, I haven’t had this in over a year and I really miss it. With N5oo (naira) for chicken and N600 (naira) for turkey I get a pack of this and my dinner is settled, but I heard the price has increased, hhmmnn na wa for dollar ooo. My friends who come to visit me then knew this was my default dinner option.chicken-and-chips
  2. Unilag Suya: Turkey suya was my favourite all the way from Moremi hall to New hall. Turkey suya with another food every other night made me add curves in the right places in my third year. I had to slow down on this. With N300 (naira) I get this sumptuous snacks and I’m good to go.
  3. Early morning and Laboratory classes: I hated both classes as a student. The former made me get up from bed too early and the latter lasted too long. But early morning classes helped me when I started working because I usually get to work earlier than my resumption timeunilag-days17
  4. Barbecue parties: These were parties organised by students in each faculty every second semester. Barbecues, booze and laced Chapman were being sold at such parties. The loud music usually attracts students from far and near as the organizers usually tip the electricity workers to take power supply during such parties. Sneak gist; I met chubby bunny in one of such parties.
    unilag-days8
    I was in my final year barbecue party.
  5. Hall weeks: Second semesters were always activities full and hall weeks was one of the many activities. This is usually a week of merriment and partying till late night in the hostel. The week ends with new sets of executives and beauty queens. I used to look forward to the food and items on sale during this period.unilag-days6
  6. Hot doughnut: Shout out to Aunty Bunmi, she used to supply us with hot doughnut every morning. I was a very good customer during my stay in new hall. That used to make up my break fast every other morning.
  7. Hostel life: I miss this a whole lot because it felt like I was in charge of my space. There was no mummy to disturb me and I did things at my own pace, but other wise is the case right now. Whew! Less I forget I was a squatter most of the time I was in school and the experience was fun as well as embarrassing some times. To all my bonafides thanks for having me. I love you all.
    unilag-days15
    I was a squatter in this room.
    unilag-days16
  8. Student life: From lecturers advising you, to spending hours in the library, running to back of science several times in a day, renting lab coats, rushing to submitting your assignments, dubbing assignments the morning of the day of submission, staying up all night to read for exams the next days. I guess it paid off well.
    unilag-days2
    This was the beginning of my Unilag career.
    unilag-days3
  9. Fashion sense: From the faculties to the quadrangles and school environs everywhere felt like a run way. Students fashion sense was so on point that even outside the school premises we were always identified. Now I have to read blogs and be more active on social media to keep up with fashion trends.unilag-days13
  10. Cafeterias and Bukaterias: Off all bukaterias and cafeterias my favourite was Olaiya. The fact that I could get nicely cooked Amala, ewedu, gbegiri and all sorts of protein here at a decent price was super cool.
  11. JCI Unilag General Assembly: Every forthnight wednesday I looked forward to seeing my other family on campus. I usually enjoyed the experience. Junior Chamber International (JCI) is a nonprofit organization of young active citizens age 18 to 40 who are engaged and committed to creating impact in their communities. Active citizens are individuals invested in the future of our world.unilag-days14
    fb_img_1449482844782.jpg
    My JCI family
  12. Church service: Church service in school was really interesting and easy to attend unlike in the real world when I had to skip weekdays service. And exam prayers was the bomb.
  13. My Course mates: This people were part of my journey for 4 years. We laughed and frowned at each other when need be. But we had memories together.unilag-days7unilag-days5Did you attend University of Lagos? What other thing do you miss about school that I didn’t write about. Please drop it in the comments section. I would love to hear from you.

Tutu ❤

4 thoughts on “Reminiscing… My Unilag days

Leave a Reply

