Hair journey 1…Products I use and tips to know.

Hey guys!!!

Do you rememeber the post on Instagram where I asked if you would like to know about my hair journey? well some people indicated interest in knowing and I am going to share. I must apologize for dropping this post a little too late; my sincere apologies *grinning*.

I have been transitioning for more than a year before I had my big chop recently, and I wrote a post on reasons why I was transitioning here. I got tired of transitioning and trimming cutting my hair and I decided to get it done with, so I went for the big chop. Ooooh I felt bad after the scissors went through my hair , but here I am today enjoying every bit of the fro life.

20150607_183117.jpg
The beginning of the transition process

 

20160930_141046.jpg
Before the big chop

 

20160930_174008.jpg
After the big chop

Products I use.

While transitioning, I went to the nearest store close to my residence to buy natural hair products, and as a rich girl that I am, I just bought the basics after reading a lot and asking questions. I continued using this products after my big chop and got a little extra. There are below:

Shampoo:

20170116_224510.jpg
Dudu osun is used as my shampoo. I got this for 3 dollars and some cents in the America

Conditioner:

20170116_224449.jpg
This is a leave-in conditioner/detangler. It was a gift from my natural hair mentor Tosin Abi
20170116_224415.jpg
Wash out replenishing conditioner, I use this after shampooing. N.B: I leave it in my hair for 30 minutes without heat and rinse out.

Hair treatment:

20170116_224337.jpg
Hair mayonnaise is used as a treatment every time I wash my hair. Its sits in my hair for 30 – 45 minutes

Cream

20170116_224704.jpg
Shea butter is my one and only hair cream till I buy Dr Miracles Hot gro.

Oils

20170116_224641.jpg
Ultimate herbal oil contains a mixture of oils; jojoba oil, olive oil, castor oil, etc
20170116_224927.jpg
Baby Oil just because I love my hair to smell good and the oil contains some ingredients which is good for my hair.

Spray bottle

20170116_224956.jpg
This spray bottle contains 70% water, 20 % oils and 10 % leave in conditioner. I use it to hydrate my hair on the go.

Pure honey: I forget to snap it

20170116_230003.jpg
Group picture of all I use

Tips you should know

  1. Always hydrate your hair. I learnt this when I got to the America and winter continually dried out my scalp.
  2. Get a spray bottle that will help with number 1. Remember water should be the highest percentage.
  3. Never comb your hair without wetting your hair. Combing it might even be impossible without wetting.
  4. Prepoo you hair before shampooing. It is a little ritual you do before washing your hair. This is when you apply a conditioning treatment to the hair prior to shampooing / washing so as to add moisture to the follicles.You either protein prepoo with egg, honey, milk etc or oil prepoo with oils; hot oil is preferable, they call it hot oil but it is rather warm.
  5. Keep your hair in as much as you can with a protective style. It helps your hair grow and reduce hair breakage.
  6. Eat well. Your hair is  a reflection of what you eat.
  7. Drink as much water as you can it keeps your hair well hydrated and helps in the proper growth of your hair.

P.S:This was written based on my experience and hair type. My hair has three different textures: Soft Caribbean curly at the back, nappy in the middle and indecisive in front. I have a colour four hair which I guess its C I am not so sure.

tutu-geh

If you find this post helpful on your hair journey or you will like to add one or two things I didn’t talk about, lets discuss in the comment section below ladies. Don’t forget to like, comment and share. I would love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Hair journey 1…Products I use and tips to know.

Leave a Reply

