Lagos girl, Oklahoma living.

Hey guys,

This post should have been up a while back but the days move too fast and life gets busy. I hope you enjoy reading this post as I outline the difference(s) between living in Oklahoma City, USA and Lagos city, Nigeria;

  1. Temperature/ Weather: This has to make the top of the list because this is major. Moving from the tropical region to the temperate region isn’t as easy as it seems, from 36 degrees Celsius to minus degree Celsius as I write this. The temperature difference is so sharp and drastic but I’m adjusting well. From the horrors of my freezing fingers, to an aching head, to my dripping nose – that’s what I have been coping with, this leaves me wondering how these people survive in a temperature similarly to a cold-room. Well, I heard that spring and summer comes with a special feeling and are both way better. I look forward to both like a child expecting dad’s tips after work.
  2. Culture/Lifestyle: Living here is a different ball game and doesn’t wear any similar garment like living in Lagos. Here are a few things I am learning to get into character with:
  • Feeding: Eating out is a norm here, some people don’t have a pot at home ( in Nigeria, cooking is like a pillar in most families) – well, for the records, I am a regular caller at Burger King (please don’t mock my size after now).
  • Party: Chips and dips served with sausages, pizza, ice-creams and cakes are party favorites here. They enjoy and love it that way, but within me I’m like where did my beloved party jollof rice and small chop vanish to?
  • Coupons and deals: Since there’s hardly anything for free in this country, people use coupons well to get things at a subsidized rate and look out for amazing deals that are real.
  • Social life: Everyone has a social life be it a church goer or life of the party.
  • Relating with people: The people here are super friendly and love to talk. So you can meet them now and know all about them. When they talk to you and you are fiddling with your phone or receiving a call it is considered rude.
  1. Time difference: This is one of the wonders of God that Geography can put an explanation to. It’s 6 hours difference between Lagos and OKC but it became 7 hours after Daylight Saving Time (DST) ended. So if I have to keep up with social media and the blog I have to sleep in the wee hours of the morning.
  2. Daylight saving Time: This was one of the differences that interested me a lot when I first got here. Daylight saving time (DST) or summer time is the practice of advancing clocks during summer months by one hour so that evening daylight lasts an hour longer, while sacrificing normal sunrise times. Typically, regions with summer time adjust clocks forward one hour close to the start of spring and adjust them backward in the autumn/fall to standard time.
  3. The law: This is what everyone respects and live by. In fact the fear of the law makes everyone live accordingly as the law is a respecter of no man. So it’s a more orderly society here.
  4. Food: The food here is really different from what we have at home and I haven’t adjusted to them at all. I still have my Nigerian food supplies here and eat most delicacies I used to eat at home .
  5. Bills, bills, bills: No one except children below the age of 16 escapes this. There is always one bill or the other to be paid, and if care is not taken you end up spending all of your income on bills. And need I say there is tax which is paid for at the point of purchase on every single product/service.
  6. Churches/ mode of worship: The Churches/mode of worship here is quite different from what we have in Nigeria except you are attending the same denomination as that in Nigeria. I heard of a church were coffee is served and the sermon is heard on the Tv screen in the church auditorium every other Sunday; there is a virtual pastor.
  7. DIY spirit: To minimize the use of human labour, there is a lot of ‘Do It Yourself’. You can check out groceries at the store by yourself, you put gas in your car by yourself as there is no attendant at the gas station, etc.
  8. Everything works: This had to be the last because its still unbelievable coming from the country I used to live in. Everything actually works accordingly and properly. 24 hours 7 days a week, electricity is uninterrupted and it still feels so good to be true.

I miss home, my friends, family, church family, acquaintances and everything I have enjoyed at home, but here I am and I have to survive against all odds.

tutugeh

Have you ever lived in or visited the US from Nigeria? What other difference did you notice that I didn’t talk about. Please drop your thoughts in the comment box below and don’t forget to like, comment on and share this post if you agree with me.

2 thoughts on “Lagos girl, Oklahoma living.

Leave a Reply

