8 EASY WAYS TO STYLE NATURAL HAIR.

The natural hair trend has been embraced by a lot of African ladies and has come to stay. The trend has made a lot of ladies like me cut off their relaxed ends and start all over again. It’s a journey and I must say it’s an interesting one. I have been on my natural hair journey for more than a year now and I am loving it at each stage. When I started transitioning, I never thought I will be wearing my hair out for so long but my inability to make my hair made me start styling my hair differently. Below are eight (8) different ways to style your hair in five (5) minutes or less.

Preparation: To achieve any hairstyle, I prepare my hair by moisturizing it with contents in my spray bottle and combing through my hair thoroughly. To know my spray bottle content click on  it.2017-07-03 05.14.40 1

  1. Afro: This style is one of my favourites. I comb out my hair and that’s all.

    2017-06-26 10.56.48 2
    Afro
  2. Center parting Afro: I put a parting from the center of my head to the length I want. Just because my hair is short and the parting might close up if the wind is heavy, I use a bobby pin to hold each side of the parting down.

    2017-06-26 10.59.46 2
    Center parting Afro
  3. High Afro bun: This is my all time favourite, because I can achieve this look in seconds and even days I don’t want to run a comb through my hair. All I use is an elastic headband or a rubber band placed in oil to reduce hair pulling. I slide the band over my head and pull the band forward making sure all my hair is close to the front .

    Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
    High Afro bun
  4. Mid Afro bun: If you can’t pack you hair successfully don’t give this style a try, the high afro bun is perfect for you. I use an elastic headband or a rubber band placed in oil to reduce hair pulling. I pack my hair together and take it round twice or more depending on how tight I want it to be. * The tighter it is the less puffy it might look if you hair length is short.

    Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
    Mid Afro bun
  5. Half up half down: I divide my hair into two equal halves and pack the upper part. I moisturize the lower part with water only and seal with oil to keep the curls in longer.

    Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
    Half up half down
  6. Half up half down: This is another style of half up half down. I cut out a little portion of my hair and pack it with a rubber band or an elastic band. Then I moisturize the lower part with water only and seal with oil to keep the curls in longer.

    Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
    Half up half down: The step by step picture collage is from left to right and the middle pictures are the final result.
  7. Goddess flat twist: I tried the goddess flat braids as a flat twist and here is the result. I cut a portion of my hair from ear to ear, then I flat twist it. I tucked the flat twist end in and put it in place with a bobby pin. You can rock this hairstyle with the other part of your hair let down or packed as shown in the picture. P.S: I am a flat twist newbie.

    Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
    Goddess flat twist: The step by step picture collage is from left to right and the middle pictures are the final result.
  8. Center part flat twist: I cut a portion of my hair my ear to ear, then divided it into two equal halves and flat twist it. I tucked the flat twist ends in and put them in place with a bobby pin. You can rock this hairstyle with the other part of your hair let down or packed as shown in the picture. P.S: I am a flat twist newbie.

    Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
    Center part flat twist: The step by step picture collage is from left to right and the middle pictures are the final result.

Just so you know my hair has three different textures; soft caribbean curly at the back, nappy in the middle and indecisive in front. I have a colour four hair which I guess its C I am not so sure. So the curls might be different.

And yes I am one of those naturalistas who don’t like to apply gel on their edges every day just because rinsing it out is stressful. If you must use gel, the gorilla snot gel is tha bomb.

tutu-geh-2

Did you find this post helpful on your hair journey and will you like to read more posts on my hair journey and discovery? Let me know your thoughts in the comment section below. Don’t forget to like, comment and share. I would love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “8 EASY WAYS TO STYLE NATURAL HAIR.

    1. Hey beauty fables, I stated my hair type and texture at the end of the post . And for styling, practice makes it perfect. By the way keeping a natural hair is not easy and convenient everytime but the journey is interesting. If you have a tough hair texture try moisturizing and mating it before you sleep, it should be soft by the following morning. Thanks for stopping by dear. I really appreciate it. I am heading over to yours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

