DIY: HOW TO DYE/COLOUR THE TIP OF YOUR NATURAL HAIR.

Its been almost a year after I had my big chop and started my natural hair journey. In this time frame I have had my hair out more than any ever before and I started getting tired of the same hair colour. I had previously nursed the idea of colouring my hair but never saw it through. I finally decided to colour my hair, and then went price asking from the nearest hair salon and the price started from $70 upwards, so I decided to do it myself (DIY).

After researching online, I was confused on either dyeing my hair temporarily or permanently. I finally settled for the SoftSheen-Carson Dark and Lovely Fade Resist Rich Conditioning Color in 378; Honey Blonde permanent hair dye which I got from Walmart for $4.97.

Dark and lovely

WHAT YOU NEED.

The dye pack contains a Cream developer, Rich conditioning colour and Moisture rich conditioner

Foil wrap

Plastic cap

Plastic wrap (optional)

Plastic bag (optional)

A clothing you don’t mind getting stained

THE PROCESS.

1. Wash and dry your hair before applying the dye. (N.B; Make sure your hair is completely dry and not moist).

2. Section your hair and hold it down with clips; well I didn’t have clips so I braided my hair, and be sure to put on a clothing you don’t mind it getting stained.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Good to go!!!

3. Cut foil wrap into long rectangular shapes for the amount your sectioned your hair into.

4. Mix the cream developer and rich conditioning colour coloration nutritive intense (Be sure to read the instructions in the dye pack well before mixing).

5. Start applying the dye on your hair from front to back.

6. Reapply the dye on your hair if you are not satisfied with the quantity on your hair already.

7. Wrap foil paper on each hair section.

8. Cover your whole hair with plastic wrap, plastic bag and plastic cap so the dye won’t stain the towel.

9. Wrap up your hair with a thick towel so the colour can set in.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

10. After 30-45 minutes remove the towel, plastic cap, bag, wrap and foil and rinse out the dye completely from your hair.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Just before rinsing out the dye

11. Apply the moisture rich conditioner on your hair and let it stay for some minutes then rinse it out.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
The result

I realized the tip of my hair which I applied the dye on felt so coarse so I decide to deep condition my hair.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
The hair colour glows under sunlight.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

And this were the simple steps I took in colouring my hair tip Honey blonde. By the way I am working on a ‘Q n A’ blog post so feel free to ask me any questions in the comment section below.

Until next week lovelies…

tutu-geh-2

How helpful do you think this post is in dyeing your hair yourself? And do you think this hair colour suits me?  Share your thoughts in the comment section so we can discuss?

5 thoughts on “DIY: HOW TO DYE/COLOUR THE TIP OF YOUR NATURAL HAIR.

  1. 😊 Well nice post, but on a scale of 1 to 5 i would give you 4 because for me, i cant get some of the items needed for that readily here in Nigeria and this is supposed to be a DIY with things around you i guess. Asides that, i totallllly love your hair, it fits your smile. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you King Lawal. I love your feedback and honest opinion about this post. I pretty much used what I could get in my present location completely forgetting that it might not be available in some of my readers location. I believe most of the materials can be gotten except the exact dye type of which there might be a good substitute. The main purpose of this blog post was to show how you can dye your hair yourself and get good result. Next time I will put your feedback into consideration. Anyways thanking you for stopping by the blog and going a step further to drop your thoughts, I really appreciate it. Keep stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

